What do you do . . .

on a cold and windy day?

You quilt on the Grandma’s Flower Garden quilt you have been working on since 2006!

Since joining the Maple Leaf Quilt Guild in January 2006, I have learned many new techniques. One of them has been English paper piecing. I started piecing this quilt in the fall of 2006 using this technique. Many thousands of hexagons later the piecing project has moved into a quilting project.

I started quilting this project last November. Now, I am two-thirds finished. I’m starting the home stretch and should have it finished by the first of April. I’m taking my time quilting and not rushing.

My stitches aren’t teeny-tiny and some of my stitch-in-the-ditch is crooked but I don’t care; it just makes it more uniquely my quilt.

Here are some pictures of a flower during the quilting process.

IMG_3855

Unquilted flower block.

Quilted flower block.
Quilted flower block.

 

2 thoughts on “What do you do . . .

  1. I love your line about your stitches not being the smallest or your lines being the straightest but that makes your quilt uniqely yours. That is a wonderful perspective. I concur. Rhoda

Leave a Reply

