Dear Jane Quilt Retreat

I’m home from the spring Dear Jane quilt retreat which was held at the Farmstead Inn in Shipshewana, Ind. Wow! So much inspiration, so many ideas, so much sewing, so little sleeping!

I got a lot accomplished. The first project completed were my Buck-a-Block blocks.

IMG_3987IMG_3988

I don’t know if these look like baskets or not.

The next project was a “Zippy Strippy Quilt”. Sometimes they are called jelly roll quilts but around here they are Zippy Strippies! They are supposed to work up fast and it did. I sewed the center in 3 hours but then it took me another 3 – 4 hours to sew on the borders. I never thought it would take that long.

 

IMG_3981

Next on the list were the split 9 patch blocks for the Perkioman Mountain quilt. I still have some more to sew, then I’ll update the lay-out.

IMG_3989

After all this sewing, I was ready for a break so I did some shopping. At the retreat I am considered a “local”. We locals are used to having the many numerous quilt shops in the area, so we don’t spend the 4 days of the retreat constantly fabric shopping.  However, I did buy some fabric.

This is the fabric from Spector’s dry goods store. Not a lot of fabric, just a few pieces to add some interest to some scrappy quilts.

IMG_3977And this is what I purchased from A Little Bit of Lolly’s (they don’t have their own web site, so the click will take you to Lolly’s web site).

IMG_3978 I purchased the blue because I thought it was pretty and I like blue fabrics. The other pieces are to be fussy cut for fussy cut stars.

After the shopping I started sewing again. I worked on a kit I had purchased back in 2009. I don’t have a picture because the borders didn’t get completed. I always cut fabric into the required pieces at home so I can start sewing immediately at retreats and not tie up the cutting table. Unfortunately I forgot to put the leftover fabric into my bag so I didn’t have the necessary fabric for the corners of the border. I’ll try to finish it this week and show it to you. I also sewed some table runners and I’ll get pictures of them too.

I had a wonderful time at the retreat and I’ll go again in November, but it is so nice to be home again.

One thought on “Dear Jane Quilt Retreat

  1. You always get so much done. I expected to accomplish more but I had a wonderful time. I only went shopping once to get some batiks for my fish quilt and the backing for my daughters quilt and to Caroline’s cottage where Lori and I bought a project for November retreat. I didn’t like leaving for my work day but I was happy to earn the money I did. I was wishing I had one more day. Your sewing projects turned out great.

Leave a Reply

