Putting Up Corn

I used to grow sweet corn for my family to eat and to freeze but I don’t anymore. It’s just too easy to go to the neighbors produce stand and buy it there. I recently purchased 2 bushels of sweet corn to freeze.

IMG_4506First the corn needs to be husked, preferably in a nice shady spot.

IMG_4508

I sat a chair on the back of the truck. The Farmer will just sweep the husks off and feed them to the cows.

IMG_4507

Next the corn is blanched in boiling water . . .

IMG_4511

Then cooled quickly in ice water. Ice cream buckets work great for freezing large chunks of ice.

IMG_4512

Drain the corn throughly, then holding the ear of corn in my left hand, I take a very sharp knife in my right hand, and cut the corn off the cob. I wasn’t able to take a picture of myself cutting the corn. You just have to take my word for it. I keep putting the cut corn in a dish pan until it is full, then I fill the freezer boxes.

IMG_4514

The 2 bushels yielded 30 pints and five 3/4-quart boxes of corn. Plenty for the two of us for this winter.

IMG_4515

 

4 thoughts on “Putting Up Corn

Leave a Reply

