September Garden

Where did August go? I can’t believe it is September already! The field radishes are growing in the west part of the garden.

IMG_4603

The potato vines have died down, but I have a thriving crop of fox tail weeds that will need to be pulled before the potatoes can be dug.

IMG_4604

Believe it or not, I am still getting green beans off those pitiful plants. I don’t know if they will keep going until frost. The carrots are growing. I don’t know why they didn’t come up the first time, I replanted in exactly the same location.

IMG_4605

Did you notice, the bottom of the corn stalks are still curved. I don’t know if that will cause a problem with the combining.

The tomatoes are yielding well, all the tomato sandwiches I can eat!

IMG_4606

The field radishes I planted last spring have done their job of suppressing weeds. The cosmos are bright and cheerful too.

IMG_4607

We have had so much rain this year and with the cooler temperatures the corn and soybeans are behind in maturing. This hayfield is doing great. In another week we’ll make 4th cutting of hay from this field. This will mark the end of our haying season.

IMG_4608

I’m still burned out from the weather last winter. Isn’t green a beautiful color? Unfortunately the rains haven’t been widespread. Many farms in eastern Indiana and southern Michigan aren’t lush and green.

IMG_4609

4 thoughts on “September Garden

  1. Oh my goodness! Phil and I both started salivating at the mention of tomato sandwiches. It wasn’t even something I realized I missed until reading that. I’ll plan a trip to the farmer’s market this Saturday!

Leave a Reply

