Making Applesauce

It’s apple time and I need to make applesauce for the freezer. I like to use Cortland apples.

IMG_4749

After I’ve washed the apples, I cut them in quarters and remove the stems & seeds. Not everyone does that, but I do. I don’t like those dark little specs in my applesauce. Then I slice then again lengthwise, I think they cook faster that way.

IMG_4750

I am using the steamer to cook the apples.

IMG_4757

After the apples are cooked . . .

IMG_4753

I put them in the sieve and start cranking.

IMG_4755

This is what is left in the sieve . . .

IMG_4752

Nice and thick applesauce in the kettle. The apple peels make the sauce turn pinkish.IMG_4751

A by-product from using the steamer is apple juice. It’s not our favorite juice, but we have it so we drink it. It does taste better than the stuff you buy in the grocery store.

IMG_4762

These boxes of sauce are ready to go into the freezer.

IMG_4761

Applesauce ends the canning and freezing journey for 2014. Now I need complete fall cleaning, and then I can SEW!

2 thoughts on “Making Applesauce

Leave a Reply

