Dear Jane Retreat, Part 1

Today’s post is about my vacation last week.

I’m packed and ready to journey to the Dear Jane retreat which is held at the Farmstead Inn in Shipshewana, Indiana. I’ve packed plenty of projects to work on!

IMG_4956

I had a wonderful time, 4 days of nonstop sewing, visiting and eating. This picture is of the 118 quilters at work.

IMG_4959

The first project I worked on was Shipshewana Summer by Yoder Department Store. This was their Row by Row Experience pattern. I didn’t participate in the Row by Row experience and had to wait until the “experience” was over before Yoder’s  could offer the pattern to the general public. They have kits in 4 colorways; spring, summer, fall and winter. I purchased a fall kit which includes the 2 wool appliques. I plan to hang this over a doorway in my kitchen.

IMG_4986

I guess I was on an ‘Amish’ trend because the next project was also in traditional Amish colors. I’ve had a jellyroll of plain dark Kona fabrics lying around for several years. Of course, what else? A Zippy Strippy quilt! I’m going to long-stitch quilt him using a Baptiste Fan pattern. This picture shows the colors more bright than what they really are.

IMG_4973

Next project was to finish this little quilt I had started at home. She was one of the patterns in the Prairie Women Journey 3 class I took at Caroline’s Cotton Corner last winter. I’ll hand quilt her sometime.

IMG_4985

At the retreat, we have a resale table.

IMG_4958

I don’t normally find anything I “need” to purchase, but this year was different! Here is a partial selection of my purchases.

IMG_4983

I also bought 10 yards of beige fabric which will be perfect for quilt backs and 6 yards of embroidered denim. I have no idea what I’m going to do with the denim.

IMG_4982

Brenda Manges Papadakis has published a new book, Susanna Culp 1848. Another beautiful quilt to put on the to do list.

IMG_4984

This post covers late Wednesday afternoon through early Friday afternoon. I will finish telling you about my retreat next week. I have a BIG reveal! I hope everyone has a peaceful Thanksgiving.

4 thoughts on “Dear Jane Retreat, Part 1

Leave a Reply

