End of Year Finishes

I’ve completed 2 more projects in 2014. I’m always amazed how quilting just adds life to a quilt top. I’ve long stitched the Amish Zippy Strippy quilt using black Perle cotton thread. For the first time ever, I’ve hand quilted with a wool batt and I loved it!

IMG_5012

The batting I used was a Hobbs heirloom premium wool batt and I’m very pleased with the results. I washed the quilt after quilting to take the markings out. It shrunk and is very cuddly now but not puffy.

The back of the quilt is a journey back in time to the 1980’s or ’90’s. I used flannel from mom’s stash.

IMG_5013

 

The other project I completed was a crib quilt that was in the basket of projects to be quilted. I purchased this panel 7 years ago. Actually I bought 2 panels and hand quilted the first one for the first grandson. This one is NOT hand quilted but quilted on my sewing machine, so much faster!

IMG_5014

Today may be New Year’s Eve, but the Farmer and I will be sound asleep by 10pm, unless there is a cow calving! The milking still needs to be done early in the morning, holiday or not.

We wish you all a Happy New Year! We pray there may be peace on earth.

2 thoughts on “End of Year Finishes

Leave a Reply

