Applique Quilt

During my month’s sabbatical from the Jane Stickel quilt, I’m trying to finish some projects and finally sewed the binding on this quilt.

IMG_5291Applique was always a skill I had wanted to acquire, but never did. The Maple Leaf Quilt guild gladly taught me several techniques for applique. I was hooked and ready to go.

I decided I would make an applique quilt for our daughter and this is what I came up with. The designs for the blocks came from many different sources. When the blocks were sewn together, the top formed a square and I don’t like square quilts. I looked through some of the patterns I brought home from my mother’s stash and found the simple flower design that is on the top border of the quilt. My applique had improved in the two years from the beginning of the quilt to the border applique. I can do more quality work now but this is where I was at in 2008.

I had always planned to hand quilt this project but that never happened. Late last fall I took the top to the Three Sisters  Fabric shop. Tammy Payette custom quilted her with beautiful feathers and returned her to me in January. I don’t think I could have hand quilted her this nice.

The details of the quilting show better if you click on the photo.

Linking up with Throw Back Thursday 10/1/2015.

 

5 thoughts on “Applique Quilt

  1. Hi Gretchen, your blue and white quilt is stunning, I did blow the photo up and zoomed in and the quilting is lovely. This will look stunning on a bed in the summer so fresh and pretty. My son has my first appliqué quilt I made over 20 years ago I had to replace the border to it 2 years ago as it had worn in places. He took it to Uni with him and has used it every day for the last 20 years!!!!! and I enjoy looking at it when I go to visit and add any repair work if necessary.

Leave a Reply

