Slow Stitching

IMG_5466Several weeks ago, I pulled out the resale shop crib quilt to work on in the evenings. I finished the applique, then I removed the green embroidery and re-embroidered the alphabet with a lighter green color. It didn’t make any difference, it still looks teale colored. I also embroidered the pink outline.

Earlier I had sprayed water on a section to see if the ink disappeared, it didn’t. So this is an old top that must have been printed 30 plus years ago. Back then they used permanent ink. Why? I don’t know but they did. Anyway, I think the blue ink makes the light green embroidery thread look more teal and it doesn’t match the green applique ribbon.

I asked DIL #2 what she thought. The greens didn’t bother her, but the ink did. Funny how we all notice different things. I had planned to add a border on the outside but she suggested just leaving it like it is, so I did. This winter I will attempt quilting it on my sewing machine.

IMG_5465Then I pulled out the pink hexies I started months ago and I’m hand sewing more of them. They will end up in a crib quilt too. People keep on having babies and I like having crib quilts ready to go for gifts.

Neither of these crib quilts will be WOW! quilts, but they will be loved and used. Nothing is better than that.

I’m linking up to Kathy’s Slow Stitching Sunday and then on Monday I’ll link up to Super Mom – No Cape! Stitchery Link Party.

13 thoughts on “Slow Stitching

  1. I like the little embroidered quilt… and as you say, it will be used and loved…. so that is great! Your hexagons are very pretty… look forward to the quilt you make with them! Christine x

  2. It’s too bad that the ink shows through because it really is a pretty quilt. Perhaps as time goes by the ink will fade as baby quilts to tend to get washed a lot.

    I love your hexie flowers! Such bright, pretty colors.

    Thanks for linking up to last week’s Stitchery Link Party and for linking back. Aloha hugs!

Leave a Reply

