Embroidered Quilt is Pieced

IMG_5473Several months ago, I showed you some quilt blocks I had embroidered years ago. They were sewn together and the quilt needed to be wider. I solved the problem by adding two side borders with flying geese, then a blue border, then a checkerboard border, ending with the blue fabric for the outside border. The top now measures 90″ x 98″, decent size for a bed.

The center blocks have yellowed some over the years. I plan to hand quilt this top someday, maybe by the time she gets quilted, the white fabric I’ve used will have yellowed too.

I know this isn’t a popular style of embroidered quilt but when she is quilted, she will have the quiet dignity that this style of embroidered quilt embraces. She won’t be quilted this winter but perhaps in a year or two.

Linking up with Kathy’s Slow Quilting on Sunday and then on Monday Super Mom-No Cape. On Wednesday I’ll link up with Esther’s Wow, then on Thursday My Quilt Infatuation.

19 thoughts on “Embroidered Quilt is Pieced

  1. I think it is beautiful, and I love the borders! You are so patient to do all this hand work. And your results are always stunning. I admire that.

  2. Oh I really like this quilt. Especially the border. Did you do a border of squares (white and blue) and then a blue border to give it the checkerboard border? It is beautiful.

    • Several years ago I made a wedding quilt for a nephew and used the checkerboard idea to add width and tie into the outside border. I really like how that quilt turned out and wanted to use the idea again. I’ll probably use the checkerboard in the future sometime. It is a very simple border to piece. I like simple!

Leave a Reply

