Charity Applique Blocks

 

I’ve enjoyed appliqueing these charity blocks.

IMG_0017This is Triangle 15, my favorite of the four. I didn’t really have a color scheme, I just appliqued fabrics that I thought looked nice. The background fabric is from my mother’s stash.

 

IMG_0019Triangle 4. The background fabric is a light blue fossil fern fabric. I also did Triangle 3 on the same fat quarter. Even though triangles 3 and 4 normally would be next to each other, since the guild is making a full size bed quilt, we are making additional blocks. My blocks 3 and 4 will not be next to each other in the finished quilt.

IMG_0018And Triangle 3. This is the disappointment block. I decided I was going to try some broderie perse. I don’t know if I did it the right way, I made it the shape of the flower that was supposed to have been EPP’d. I used mom’s older Asian fabrics and they just aren’t as bright and colorful as the newer Asian fabrics. Oh well, it’s finished.

I showed you triangle 16 in this post.

The 4 blocks are finished and I’ll return them to the charity committee during guild Monday evening.

I’m looking forward to starting my Sweet Surrender triangles, but before I start them, I have another applique project I want to make first, just for fun. I’ll show you how far I get with that project next week.

I’m pleased with the quilting progress on my Jane Stickle quilt. So far I’ve been able to quilt a row a week. I don’t know if I’ll be able to keep it up but I’m going to try. I would really like to have her finished to take along to the Jane Stickle retreat in April.

Last week I showed you the Stars and Sprigs quilt my guild made and donated to the Michiana Mennonite Relief Sale. The sale was held yesterday and she brought $2600. The photo used in the post was taken by Marie Troyer. Thanks Marie for sending me the photo and my apologies for not giving you the credit.

Linking up with Kathy’s Slow Stitching SundayLove Laugh Quilt, Quilting is More Fun than Housework, Quilt StoryA Quilting Reader’s Garden and Esther’s WOW.

20 thoughts on “Charity Applique Blocks

  1. All your blocks are lovely! And it’s always nice to get things done 🙂 That was a great amount to raise for your quilt, you must be so pleased when people show such enthusiasm.

  2. Your little blocks are lovely Gretchen. Thats a good amount of money to get for Stars and Sprigs which is a beautiful quilt. I intend making some of the applique blocks from that pattern for a wall hanging. I dont need another queen size quilt.:-)

Leave a Reply

