Quilting Jane, Row L

The quilting on Row L has been completed.

IMG_0014

Left side triangle 2 and block L1. By the time I was piecing the triangles, I had gotten pretty good at paper piecing. The point of triangle LS 2 was supposed to have an applique diamond, but I paper pieced it. It looks much better pieced than my applique.

Instead of simply quilting another square inside of a square, I’m quilting this curved square design. I think it looks more interesting. I had a friend stop in last week to look at the quilt, she knew the name of this quilting design. I don’t remember what she called it! I should have immediately written it down.

IMG_0013

 

Blocks L2 and L3.

 

IMG_0012

Blocks L4, L5 and L6. Curves make a more interesting quilting design in L4 than just stitching in the ditch would be.

IMG_0011Blocks L7, L8 and L9. I should have reversed the colors in L7, too much white. Used Baptist Fan to make a more interesting quilting design instead of just stitching in the ditch.

IMG_0010

Blocks L10, L11 and L12. Here are 2 of the blocks I added circles to instead of the triangles Jane used. My applique skill isn’t good enough to applique those teeny, tiny triangles!

IMG_0009

Block L13 and right side triangle 12.

Yards of thread used to date – 192.

IMG_0022I’ve sewn half of the Cherry Blossom quilt together. Whoops, see that one B block turned the wrong way? At least it is hasn’t been sewn into a row yet. That is an easy fix.

Linking up with Esther’s WOW, Freshly Pieced and My Quilt Infatuation.

4 thoughts on “Quilting Jane, Row L

  1. What a show stopper! Love the quilting! Also love the Cherry Blossom quilt. So much better to lay the blocks out that jumping in and sewing them together…. Prevents rippig parties – I have been to too many of those. LOL.

Leave a Reply

