Grandmothers Flower Garden Quilt is Finished!

The binding is sewn, the label is attached. The journey has come to an end.

IMG_3946

Here is a close up of a block . . .

IMG_3947

and the border.

IMG_3948

I was inspired by two old quilts. The first one was made by my Grandmother (Sylvia Jane) Miller.

IMG_3939

This is a dolly quilt made by my husband’s grandmother (Celeste Kauffman Hoover) for his sisters.

IMG_3940

Even though these ladies never knew each other, they both appliqued the hexagon center to the border and both quilted their border with theĀ baptise fan design.

I liked the the way their quilts looked and incorporated their ideas into mine. I do think using diamonds and triangles to separate the flowers is more attractive. However, if I ever make another flower garden quilt, I won’t use the diamonds & triangles. They were much more time consuming to sew than hexagons.

8 thoughts on “Grandmothers Flower Garden Quilt is Finished!

  1. I was going to say that I think Celeste and Sylvia would be very proud and impressed to see your quilt! They didn’t get to enjoy Lord of the Rings and Downton Abbey as they worked on theirs either!

Leave a comment