Dear Jane Retreat, Part 2

I’m sure you all have had trouble sleeping at night in anticipation of my great news. This isn’t quite as exciting as Bonnie Hunter’s Grand Illusion mystery quilt but it is thrilling. I’ll get straight to the point (drumroll please) . . . . . . . . . . . I’ve started a Dear Jane Quilt!!! Yes, yes, I know, after all the times I said I was never going to make one of these fiddlely things, I’ve started one!

I sewed these 3 blocks at the Dear Jane retreat. I’m foundation paper piecing the pieced blocks and forgot to reverse the first block I pieced! However, I am not going to redo it: “Better finished than perfect”, right Brenda?

IMG_4987 I’ve simplified my project by selecting 2 fabrics. I’ve always wanted to make a blue and white quilt and I think this Fusions fabric designed by Robert Kauffman is perfect. I’m using a white Bella solid by Moda as my background fabric. I’m on a roll, just 222 more blocks to sew!

The Dear Jane blocks were the project I worked on Friday afternoon and evening at the retreat.

I had planned to do some shopping Saturday morning and leave the Farmstead at 8 am. Instead I appliqued this block (which is Dear Jane block) for a fellow Janiac.

IMG_4961

Margaret was one of the original participants/founders of the Dear Jane retreat. Due to health issues, Margaret is no longer able to attend. We were asked to make a block for a quilt which will be given to her when it is finished.

After I completed the block, I left for Caroline’s Cotton Cottage in Rome City. I have been looking for fabric for the border of my brown & blue basket quilt. Caroline came to my rescue and found the perfect fabric. Of course, while I was there, I picked up some other fabrics too.

IMG_4988

It was early afternoon when I returned to the retreat. The first thing I did was to sew the borders onto my basket quilt. I was trying to be creative when I took this picture, so I draped the top over the buggy in the lobby.

IMG_4962

After I finished the Basket quilt, I sewed an Amish crib quilt I kitted up several years ago. It is based on a picture from Quilts from the Indiana Amish, a Regional Collection by David Pottinger.

IMG_4977

IMG_4980

And my quilt . . .

IMG_4976

The quilting will make it more interesting. I’m not sure what designs I will use.

There wasn’t time to start another project, so I worked on the embroidery project I had brought along.

IMG_4981

They will be turned into pincushions eventually. The design came from this book by Gail Pan.

IMG_4797

It is very seldom that I purchase a book and actually like every single project!

This final picture was taken Sunday morning. The sewing room is basically deserted except for the ‘locals’. Several years ago Gay very aptly named this “The Sunday morning sadness”.

IMG_4971

So now my vacation is over and it is back to work on the farm.

2 thoughts on “Dear Jane Retreat, Part 2

  1. Gretchen, so happy for you and all your accomplishments. That last picture brought tears to my eyes. I do love the dear Jane retreat. Happy sewing. Can’t wait to see more dear Jane blocks.

Leave a Reply

