An Applique Block from the Pastor’s Attic Quilt

IMG_0241Another Pastor’s Attic block completed! There are 25 blocks in this quilt and I’ve completed 5 of them so far.

I was looking back at the post I made on January 12, 2015 where I talked about the projects I wanted to work on in 2015. This is an update from those projects and others that I was working on a year ago.

The BIGGEST project was my Jane Stickle quilt which is finished! (More on that later)

IMG_5387I was just starting the embroidery on Red Radiance and she is finished!

I also wanted to start piecing the Summer Lake Log Cabin quilt. The blocks for the center have been pieced and the quilt should be completed in 2016!

IMG_5041

 

I was still hand sewing the Fussy Cut Stars together. Now they have been sewn into a top and she is in the quilting frame being hand quilted.

 

IMG_5051

 

Autumn Sampler has been long-arm quilted and is on the bed upstairs.

 

 

 

 

Now about something non-quilty . . . . I started blogging in February 2014. Something I wanted in my posts was to always have at least one picture. I wanted the pictures to be BIG photos, REALLY BIG! I didn’t realize how that would use up the space allocated in a blog. I haven’t been blogging for two full years, but I’ve already used most of the space allowed, so I am starting a new blog, Gretchen’s Little Corner on blogger. I hope my ‘followers’ come along on the new site. See you there!

Linking to –

Esther’s Wednesday Wow

Freshly Pieced

My Quilt Infatuation

A Quilting Reader’s Garden

Quilt Story

Crazy Mom Quilts

Podunk Pretties

Kathy’s Slow Stitching Sunday

Quilting is More Fun than Housework

Love Laugh Quilt

16 thoughts on “An Applique Block from the Pastor’s Attic Quilt

  1. I admire that you are doing an all appliqué quilt. Is your Pastor’s quilt like a Baltimore album? And I think your Red Radiance is so very beautiful! What size is that? And your Fussy Cut Stars is wonderful too! Thank you for bringing in your Jane yesterday. She is gorgeous!

  2. Beautiful applique on your pastor’s attic block. I made Red Radience many years ago as a retirement gift for a special friend at work. It was when I first started quilting and I never took any pictures of it. Love your work!

  3. The applique block for your attic block is very well done. I looked back in your posts to see what pattern you are using as I did not recognize it as the Pastor’s Attic. I have the book you are using and now I do remember why you would call it that. You are on a wonderful quilt journey.

  4. Gretchen, upload your pics to Flickr or another photo sharing site, and link them to your blog. It takes up a lot less space to do it that way. I use WordPress too, and am on year three of blogging with big photos, but I have only used 4% of my available media space. I’d be happy to walk you through that, you might be able to save your original blog site with a bit of work.

  5. Wonderful quilts. Curious — were the quilting lines going straight through the embroidery on the Red Radiance? The quilting looks fabulous. I didn’t realize there was a limit on WordPress. I know it took me a couple of years to use all of the allotted memory on my blog. So, I’m paying Google a small fee to use blogspot and various other google owned products. PS Blogger is different from blogspot.

    • I quilted in the embroidered parts, but not straight lines. I quilted the designs. I wouldn’t have had to quilt her that close, but I just did. That’s ok about blogspot/blogger. Blessings, Gretchen

  6. Oh. Now I know why your name looked so familiar! You are the one who was doing the Pastor’s Attic! I did eventually acquire most of what I needed, yet haven’t started it yet.

    I’m amused that you switched from WP to Blogger, but I went the other way, because Blogspot drives me crazy. LOL I made my post pictures medium and clickable to be REALLY big. I clicked on one of yours, and it did the same thing. My WP has lots of pictures, and they are from more than a decade of posting, first on livejournal, then blogspot and finally on WP. I don’t know why you ran out of space so fast! That’s kinda weird!

Leave a comment